Churchill's British Resistance - The Auxiliary Units


This page was last updated on 21/10/16

Aberdeenshire Auxiliary Units inc. Nairn, Moray and Banffshire.

Our County Information Officer (CIO) in this area is:

Name: Alan Stewart

Email:     Tel:  N/A Skype: N/A

Please Note: Research into these counties and patrols are still ongoing. The information below is published from various sources and is by no means conclusive. If information is not listed below it does not necessarily mean the information is not out there but normally means our researchers have not found it yet! 
If you have any information about the Auxiliary Units please do get in touch with us.

The Auxiliary Units were specially trained, highly secret groups of volunteers created by the British government, during the Second World War, with the aim of resisting the expected occupation of the United Kingdom by Nazi Germany.

The guerrilla units, sometimes referred to as a part of the British Resistance Organisation, were initiated by Winston Churchill in the early summer of 1940. He appointed Colonel Colin Gubbins to found them. The Auxiliary Units answered to GHQ Home Forces, but were organised as if part of the local Home Guard. Read more here

Regional Headquarters

Intelligence Officers

Group Commanders Click here for information of Special Duties Branch activity in this county 
  Click here to read other information on this county Click here for a lists of suspected Auxiliers in this county   
Operational Map 
Each marker pin shows the centre of the town or village where the patrol was located. They do not indicate the location of any Operational Bases or physical locations to go and view. View a fullscreen version of the map here.     

CART has basic documentation on these patrols unless they are a clickable link.

Group 1 - Lead by Capt. W. Mustard
Lethen Patrol - Added 16/5/15
Forres Patrol - Added 2/5/15
Spynie Patrol - Added 2/5/15
Darnaway Patrol - Added 18/5/15
Group 2 - Lead by Lt G.S. Fisher

Clochan Patrol - Added 26/1/15

Deskford Patrol - Updated 23/8/15
Grange Patrol - Updated 3/7/15
Banff Patrol - Updated 18/5/15
Gamrie Patrol - Updated 14/7/15
Group 3 - Lead by Lt. A.H. Budge
Marnoch Patrol - Added 25/5/15
Forgue Patrol - Updated 12/9/15
Culvie Patrol - Added 25/5/15
Mountblairy Patrol - Added 3/2/15
Group 4 - Lead by Capt.L.G. Cochrane
Spey Bay Patrol - Added 26/1/15
Lhanbryde Patrol - Added 2/5/15
Cairnie Patrol - Added 2/7/14
Drummuie Patrol - Added 1/7/14
Gartly Patrol - Added 2/5/15
Group 5 - Lead by Capt. W. S. Smart
Kinnellar Patrol - Updated 23/9/15
Milltimber Patrol - Added 3/4/15
Maryculter Patrol - Added 3/4/15
North Cookney Patrol - Added 25/5/15
Rickarton Patrol - Added 25/5/15
Group 6 - Lead by Lt J.L. Low
New Pitsligo Patrol - Updated 26/4/16
Crimond Patrol - Added 18/4/15
Peterhead Patrol - Added 4/1/15
Fraserburgh Patrol - Updated 31/1/16
Rora/Longside Patrol - Updated 4/7/15
Kinockie/Mintlaw Patrol - Updated 16/5/15
Group 7 - Lead by Lt A. Fraser
Fyvie Patrol - Added 3/4/15
Newmachar Patrol - Added 28/6/14
Slains Patrol - Added 3/4/15
Tarty Patrol - Updated 21/10/16
Ellon Patrol - Added 2/4/14

Please click me