Churchill's British Resistance - The Auxiliary Units


This page was last updated at 5:51pm on 10/6/14

Caithness Auxiliary Units inc. Sutherland, Ross & Cromarty, Invernessshire and the Outer Hebrides.

We do not have a researcher for this area currently.

If you wish to help with the research or discuss anything in this county only, please email

Please Note: Research into these counties and patrols are still ongoing. The information below is published from various sources and is by no means conclusive. If information is not listed below it does not necessarily mean the information is not out there but normally means our researchers have not found it yet! 
If you have any information about the Auxiliary Units please do get in touch with us.

The Auxiliary Units were specially trained, highly secret groups of volunteers created by the British government, during the Second World War, with the aim of resisting the expected occupation of the United Kingdom by Nazi Germany.

The guerrilla units, sometimes referred to as a part of the British Resistance Organisation, were initiated by Winston Churchill in the early summer of 1940. He appointed Colonel Colin Gubbins to found them. The Auxiliary Units answered to GHQ Home Forces, but were organised as if part of the local Home Guard. Read more here

Regional Headquarters

Intelligence Officers

Group Commanders Click here for information of Special Duties Branch activity in this county 
  Click here to read other information on this county Click here for a lists of suspected Auxiliers in this county   
Operational Map 
Each marker pin shows the centre of the town or village where the patrol was located. They do not indicate the location of any Operational Bases or physical locations to go and view. View a fullscreen version of the map here. 


CART has basic documentation on these patrols unless they are a clickable link.

Group 1 - Lead by Lt. J. Coghill
Reay Patrol - Added 19/5/15
Thurso Patrol - Added 5/6/15
Skaill/Forss Patrol - Added 19/5/15
Dunnet Patrol - Added 1/8/13
Weydale Patrol - Added 5/6/15
Group 2 - Lead by Capt. W.A. Coutts
John O'Groats Patrol - NEW - Added 10/6/15
Keiss Village Patrol
Wick Patrol - NEW - Added 10/6/15
Thrumster Patrol - NEW - Added 10/6/15
Camster Patrol - Added 5/6/15
Latheron Patrol
Berriedale Patrol - NEW - Added 10/6/15
Group 3 - Lead by Capt. A.J. Thompson
West Gartly,Loth Patrol
Deible,Kildonan Patrol
Brora Patrol
Golspie Patrol
Rogart Patrol
Skelbo Patrol
Clashmore/Dornoch Patrol
Group 4 - Lead by Capt. R. Jones
Fearn Patrol
Invergordon Patrol
Alness Patrol

Operational Map 


Group 5 (The Outer Hebrides) - Lead by Capt. J.G. Chisholm
Stornoway 1 Patrol (Isle of Lewis) - Updated 14/1/14
Stornoway 2 Patrol (Isle of Lewis) - Added 22/1/14
Stornoway 3 Patrol (Isle of Lewis) - Added 24/1/14.
North Uist Patrol - Added 6/2/12
Benbecula 1 Patrol - Added 29/1/14
Benbecula 2 Patrol - Added 30/1/14
South Uist Patrol - Added 30/1/14

Please click me