Churchill's British Resistance - The Auxiliary Units


This page was last updated on 14/5/16

Devon Auxiliary Unit Patrols And Operational Bases.

Our County Information Officer (CIO) in this area is:

Name: Nina Hannaford.

Email: Tel: 01803 852977 Skype: nina.hannaford

Please Note: Research into this county and its patrols are still ongoing. The information below is published from various sources and is by no means conclusive. If information is not listed below it does not necessarily mean the information is not out there but normally means our researchers have not found it yet! 
If you have any information about the Auxiliary Units please do get in touch with us.

The Auxiliary Units were specially trained, highly secret groups of volunteers created by the British government, during the Second World War, with the aim of resisting the expected occupation of the United Kingdom by Nazi Germany.

The guerrilla units, sometimes referred to as a part of the British Resistance Organisation, were initiated by Winston Churchill in the early summer of 1940. He appointed Colonel Colin Gubbins to found them. The Auxiliary Units answered to GHQ Home Forces, but were organised as if part of the local Home Guard. Read more here

Devon had 32 patrols.
Regional Headquarters

Intelligence Officers

Group Commanders Click here for information of Special Duties Branch activity in this county 
  Click here to read other information on this county Click here for a lists of suspected Auxiliers in this county   
Operational Map 
Each marker pin shows the centre of the town or village where the patrol was located. They do not indicate the location of any Operational Bases or physical locations to go and view. View a fullscreen version of the map here. 

Devon Patrols
CART has basic documentation on these patrols unless they are a clickable link.

Upton Pyne Scout Section Operational Base - Updated 27/12/12

No 1 Group - Lead by Captain G.W Slee
Braunton Patrol (Codename "Seymour")
Snapper (Barnstable) Patrol
Tawstock Patrol - Added 1/2/16
Bideford (East the Water) Patrol - Updated 17/7/14

Torrington Patrol

No 2 Group - Lead by Captain C.H Wellington
Yealmpton Patrol - Added 17/6/15
Holbeton Patrol - Coming soon.
Tamerton Foliot Patrol - Added 22/5/15
Plympton Patrol - Updated 5/4/13
Yelverton Patrol - Added 3/2/13
No 3 Group - Lead by Captain A.P.W Robertson
Diptford Patrol
Ugborough Patrol - Added 13/12/11
Harford Patrol - Updated 18/1/13
Flete Patrol - Coming soon.
Cornwood Patrol - Updated 30/10/14
No 4 Group - Lead by Captain A.J Smith
Newton Abbot Patrol - Added 24/12/13
Marldon Patrol - Updated 28/8/14
Harberton Patrol - Updated 11/8/14
Stoke Gabriel Patrol - Updated 14/5/16
Brixham Patrol - Updated 17/9/14
No 5 Group - Lead by Lt. E.W Eardley

Dawlish Patrol 'The Haldon Commandos' - Added 29/8/13    (Kindly sponsored by Andy Chatterton)

Teignmouth Patrol 'The Original Kernals Pals' - Added 29/8/13
Starcross Patrol - Added 29/8/13
No 6 Group - Lead by Captain S. B Wood
Sidbury Patrol - Coming soon.
Branscombe Patrol - Added 8/7/14
Bovey Patrol - Coming soon.
An Unknown Patrol near Whitford
Seaton Patrol
An Unknown Patrol near Axminster
Farringdon Patrol - Added 19/7/15
Beer Patrol
Newton Poppleford Patrol - Added 4/6/14

Please click me