Churchill's British Resistance - The Auxiliary Units


This page was last updated on 4/11/16

Fife, Angus & Kincardineshire Auxiliary Units

Our County Information Officer (CIO) in this area is:

Name: David Blair

Email:    Tel:  N/A     Skype: N/A

Please Note: Research into these counties and patrols are still ongoing. The information below is published from various sources and is by no means conclusive. If information is not listed below it does not necessarily mean the information is not out there but normally means our researchers have not found it yet! 
If you have any information about the Auxiliary Units please do get in touch with us.

The Auxiliary Units were specially trained, highly secret groups of volunteers created by the British government, during the Second World War, with the aim of resisting the expected occupation of the United Kingdom by Nazi Germany.

The guerrilla units, sometimes referred to as a part of the British Resistance Organisation, were initiated by Winston Churchill in the early summer of 1940. He appointed Colonel Colin Gubbins to found them. The Auxiliary Units answered to GHQ Home Forces, but were organised as if part of the local Home Guard. Read more here

Regional Headquarters

Intelligence Officers

Group Commanders Click here for information of Special Duties Branch activity in this county 
  Click here to read other information on this county Click here for a lists of suspected Auxiliers in this county   
Operational Map 
Each marker pin shows the centre of the town or village where the patrol was located. They do not indicate the location of any Operational Bases or physical locations to go and view. View a fullscreen version of the map here. 


CART has basic documentation on these patrols unless they are a clickable link.

Group 1 - Lead by Capt. R,E. Catheart
Leven Patrol - Added 21/2/15
St. Monans Patrol - Added 21/2/15
Crail Patrol - Added 21/2/15
Elie Patrol
Group 2 - Lead by Capt. K.A.D. Niven
St. Andrews Patrol - Updated 22/9/11
Guardbridge Patrol - Added 8/3/15
Earlshall/Leuchars Patrol - Added 13/3/15
Kingsbarns Patrol - Added 8/3/15
Cupar Patrol
Group 3 - Lead by Maj. R.O. Ramsey
Carnoustie Patrol - Added 4/11/16
Monifeth Patrol
Arbroath Patrol
Leysmill Patrol - Added 4/11/16
Group 4 - Lead by Maj. Sir Torquil Monro Bt.
Coupar Angus Patrol
Newtyle Patrol
Kirriemuir Patrol
Meigle Patrol
Group 5 - Lead by Capt. H.A. Ferrier
Laurencekirk Patrol
Tarfside Patrol
Fettercairn Patrol
Glen Lethnot Patrol
Farnell Patrol - Added 4/11/16
Arbuthnott Patrol

Please click me